Devices detected, but ZERO run times and ZERO power used...very strange!

I was excited to see that my Sense had FINALLY detected our refrigerator and associated Icemaker, but when I went into devices I found that no power had been consumed and neither had run at all. I work in the field of data analytics, so it seems strange to me that your algorithms can detect devices with no data to work against. Or, is perhaps due to bugs in your applications not presenting data that actually does exist. I’ve marked both for now with ???, and will watch to see if anything does show up. Any other suggestions?

1 Like

Wait and see. I’m not sure why this happens, but it occasionally takes time for the devices to catch up.

I think this is a bug in your reporting. In order for the analytics to discover a pattern, they have to have observed it…probably many times, and compared that to already discovered devices in your data bases. So, to help us confirm the pattern, we need to see the data used by the analytics to do the discovery. So, this is most likely a bug in your reporting of device discovery, and it affects both the Sense Droid app and the web app.

Andy

Here’s the most recent instances I’ve seen this: when I replaced a garbage disposal and dishwasher, each month the old appliances would be refound, with zero power usage, etc. It was correct that they hadn’t been used, but not smart enough to determine the devices had been replaced - because it continues to sift through old data to find things.

Sorry this happened, @andy. There should be data there when the device is initially detected. We’re looking into this. Would you mind submitting a ticket to support so they can take a closer look?