“Usage” v. “From Grid” Difference?

Hello All….

I am not an engineer! Nor am I a math guy. I am a retired lawyer so I can only divide numbers by 33.33%!

But my wife is an engineer and we are going through some electric bills and trying to make “sense” (pardon the pun) of our new FPL electric bill (we live along the eastern, central coast of FL) that now has a new minimum charge for individuals that do not use some threshold amount of electricity. Additionally, our solar panels were taken down recently as we needed a new roof due to the insurance crisis happening here.

I am posting a screen shot, below, of our energy usage for a day when we were not producing solar when the new rood was being put on. One will notice that our “Usage” of 60.9 kWh’s is different than our “From grid”, being 63.6 kWh’s.

How can that be?

Why would we get more electricity from FPL than we use?

And please, dumb it down for me?

Thanks in advance.

Bob

1 Like

Anyone?

If not, I will have to make a liquor store run to get more rum to sip while pondering this dilemma….

1 Like

that is a 4.25% difference.
I would say this is an interesting question to send to support@sense.com.
Please post their reply, i for sure would be interested in that.

2 Likes

Hmmm. I’m guessing there is just some numerical garbage lurking in your raw data at the Sense mother ship due to you still having the solar option on with no solar input. From the data science side, sometimes data we think is zeroed out, is stored as NA (not available) - that could be what Sense is seeing for your solar feed. NAs have weird behaviors when you do math and computational decisions based on them.

2 Likes

A question for all solar users out there. I always thought that net usage (House usage - solar production) would always be the same as From Grid - To Grid, but I’m seeing smallish monthly or billing period differences:

House usage - solar production
1759.2 - 694.1 = 1065.1

From Grid - To Grid
1277.8 - 198.7 = 1079.1