AC Startup Power Spikes

I’ve noticed a bizarre behavior when my AC begins a cycle. Initially the fan turns on and stays on, and then every 20-30 seconds there’s a massive draw of power, which I assume is the compressor, but it only lasts for a few seconds and it immediately drops back down to the consumption of the fan. After about 8 minutes of these big current draws, the compressor appears to stay on and consumes a steady 4k watts for the remainder of the cooling cycle. Does anyone know if this a typical behavior for a single stage AC unit? I’ve attached a screenshot of the initial spikes and the first 8 minutes from the start of the cycle until the compressor stays on. Thanks for any insight.

1 Like

I’m not an AC expert, but I wouldn’t expect to see that many huge startup spikes… I have new (1 month old) single stage compressors and they look like this through their cycle in the power meter (BTW - the yellow line is my solar generation)

Here’s how Sense detects those waveforms in the device-level power meter.

I wouldn’t be surprised if you have a bad runstart capacitor, where the compressor keeps trying to start but misses for a number of times, then finally kicks in.

2 Likes

It looks to me like Summer 2019 is shaping up to be the time Sense acquired significant AC-fail awareness … well, the data at least.
I believe @kevin1 is right here but there will come a day when Sense will tell you before you notice such things. Yeah!

Will alerting be active by the end of Summer? This is another one for @RyanAtSense & the team to look at.

Meaning, @gangelm, if you repair your AC you should definitely pass data and repair experience on to Sense. Perhaps by the end of Summer you’ll get a notification along the lines of “Your AC looks fine for next Season!” or “Your AC looks like it might need repair. Would you like us to do some deeper analysis?”

1 Like