Remote monitor to subtract 'noise'

I have a device that constantly fluctuates it’s power usage, which led me to thinking. It would be nice if we could have a remote device, similar to a Kill A Watt, that reports to sense about a specific devices usage.

At first glance this seems to go against the purpose of the sense solution however my device seems to ‘pollute’ the data sense is viewing. This would allow Sense to subtract out the ‘noise’ from the signal. The device could connect via power line communication or wifi whichever led to a cheaper BOM.

3 Likes

@CarlT,
I like your idea ! I have already questioned whether Sense might consider “connecting” via existing open APIs with other connected power sensing devices like a TP-Link Smartplug or an Elgoto Eve Energy (both of which I have been using to monitor Always On power in my household). Being an electrical engineer, I do question at what granularity a wall plug type unit might be useful given Sense device identification techniques. A few considerations:

• The Sense probe samples at 4M measurements per second. Assuming that this is includes solar and that voltage and current are separate measurements x 4 coils/voltages = 500K samples second. Trying to do a sample by sample “noise” cancellation from a remote wall plug device would be nigh impossible to synchronize due to rates, distance and time domain distortion induced by the home wiring.

• What about canceling things out at the level of granularity of the Sense “Power Meter” ? Most people looking at the “Power Meter” forget that its reading is a highly processed and abstracted version of the the real data. AC power, as it is delivered, is intrinsically lumpy, bopping from essentially 0W to a current driven peak every 120th of a second, like this:
    res33