Basic KP115 question - Can I use it to train Sense, then move it?

So - got my first smart plug. Once Sense finds this and monitors it for awhile, if I remove the smart plug and plug the device straight into power again, will sense still know what it is?.. thanks

Hey there. At this time, Sense requires that the device is plugged into the smart plug to maintain smart plug detections.

Ok, thank you.

I have no experience with devices hooked up to the smart plugsā€¦ But my understanding is that Sense is detecting the smart plugā€¦not the deviceā€¦ Am I right?

So if you remove the device, it hasnā€™t lost itā€™s ability to find the smart plugā€¦ Itā€™ll still recognize the smart plug, and any new device you attach it toā€¦

Further, the smart plug does not ā€œhelpā€ or accelerate Sense detect the device on the other end of the smart plugā€¦ Because it actually hasnā€™t detected or recognized the device itselfā€¦ In that respect the ā€œdevice detectionā€ was not very smartā€¦it is just a passthrough through the smart plugā€¦

Do I have that right? Again, forgive my ignorance on this topicā€¦ I have no experience here, just my perceptions and assumptionsā€¦ :slight_smile:

This is correct @MikeekiM.

Depends on your definition of ā€œhelpā€. If weā€™re talking strictly about how smart plug devices play into the detection algorithm, youā€™re correct.
If weā€™re talking about the larger picture, the Data Science team refers to smart plug data along with dedicated circuit devices to provide us with valuable ground-truth data to reference for various utilizations.

In this way, Sense is looking at the power signatures and is creating profiles, or whatever, on the back end for devices?