How many smart plugs are you using

Just a question

I am currenlty using 7 for common what I consider low draw devices.

Fridge, Small Oven/Microwave, Dishwasher, Washing Machine, Tivo etc. Computrs & Printer (the latter on a non smart power strip via a smart plug)

Am I over doing the use of Smart Plugs?

I dont think I need to mico manage my usage but as I am new to the Sence I am looking at everything that is going on in my house as I constantly monitor my usage and smile whenever I see a new bubble.

(Maybe the novelty will wear off in time)

And the wife has a frown.

@Brightonuk,
No, I don’t think you are overdoing it, for a few reasons:

1. The originally Sense limit was about 20 plugs, before servicing the plugs took up enough CPU power that it might affect the Monitor performance of other duties. That restriction has since been loosened - I don’t know if there is a definitive limit, but I know a few users in the community who are using 30-50. Our house is currently at 34, plus a few Wiser wall switches.
  2. In my books, your smart plug deployment should be driven by a few factors:
  • The set of devices in your house that Sense can’t find
  • How much you want to whittle down Other
  • The power usage characteristics of the devices that Sense can’t find, but you want to monitor.

The general strategy I have used is:

• Install Sense and wait a few months to see what is discovered by native detections.
  • While you’re waiting, do an inventory of the plugin-in devices in your house, by rotating one or two smart plugs around various devices that haven’t been detected, to get 48 hour traces on the usage patterns for each device or outlet strip.