Data retention

I am new to Sense, one month in.
How long will Sense retain data for my account that I will have access to?

When will we get the ability to download the data so that we have control retaining data?

2 Likes

If you expect to improve the training for the devices that remain in your household, you are going to want the retention and retraining to be near-perpetual. Maybe not so important if you remove many of the historic devices from your house over time. And certainly you don’t really want to retain if you move houses and electrical systems.

I want it to be a long time. My question is how long will Sense keep it around.
I would like to be able to compare a device month to month and year to year. Especially if a device gets replaced with a newer more efficient model, to go back and compare to months and years before.

At this time we do not purge any user data unless you ask us to. So: indefinitely!

Data export is being actively worked on as I type this but I cannot guarantee any timeline beyond that. It’s a highly requested feature and something I want pretty badly as well, so hopefully it comes soon. I would love to know what you’d like to see out of a data export feature. What kind of data would you like to be able to grab and what sort of resolution?

B@RyanAtSense,
I’ll answer this one again, since I’ve been playing around with merging data between a few devices (Ecobee, SolarCity/Tesla inverter, Rainforest Eagle, PG&E website, scraped data from Sense web app).

It would be great to be able to go to any Usage card (device, total Usage, or Solar) and

• download exactly what is there without having to set any options (Use all the natural units for each display resolution - Day, Week, Month, Billing)
  • change options for download reporting period - offer Day, Week, Month, Billing, Year (if year is feasible given resolution)
  • change options for resolution - offer Minute, 5 Minute, 15 Minute, Hour, Day, Week, Month, Billing.