Fun: Sense's view of the heating element on my oven blowing itself up

Oops, the heating element in my old oven just spent the last few minutes trying to weld itself in in place.

This is the sense usage graph of the oven. The spikes on the left are the normal cycling on / off while the oven is heating up. Then you can see power usage ramps up while the element was melting. The oven controls were off from about 3:40 on, but the element was still drawing power! I flipped the breaker after the peak at 3:48 or so.

4 Likes

Wait, your oven was turned off, but the heating element was still running? That’s some scary stuff.

Yeah.

I’m not an electrical engineer, but I’d guess that when the oven element’s insulation was breached, the whole oven was energized. This probably created a circuit path around the element control relay.

Maybe something like this:

Image 10-3-22 at 1.24 PM

I’ve wondered why the normal electrical safety systems didn’t kick in.

My oven has an old style 3-blade 240V plug, so no ground.
I had a 4-blade grounded 240V plug, then the short would’ve gone from element to ground, not to neutral, but current would still flow.

I don’t think the breaker would’ve ever tripped, because the single 120V leg that was shorted probably can’t carry enough current to trip the 40 A breaker. Even if it could, the oven element is a giant resistor, which limits the current (at least until it melts). The same thing is probably true if there were a fuse on the oven relay.

If I had a ground-fault breaker, that wouldn’t have tripped, because GFCI’s don’t protect against shorts from hot to neutral or ground.

I’m not entirely clear what arc fault breakers do. But if they can detect shorts from hot to neutral or ground, then I guess that would’ve been the only thing. Or some other kinds of protection circuitry built into the oven. (This oven is 25 years old).