General house/energy questions

@j.y.espinosa, I didn’t want to hijack your thread in the Product Wishlist, but as an Energy Consultant, I can give some helpful info on your questions… link to original post: What is normal usage?

1: What should water heater usage look like? (I really want to know)

if you have a newer water heater, you might have a yellow EnergyGuide label/sticker on it… that will give you a rough idea of how much your water heater should use in energy… now, those guides are based on some “typical” testing parameters, so if you have a smaller household, you should be below those numbers and likewise, if you have a larger household, you will be higher… also weather will play a part… for instance, I have a tankless water heater mounted on the outside of my home… last night was down to 32F so my supply pipes got down to about 40ish… I know that the pipes were 45 at midnight when I looked at them… anyway, my water heater will work harder at those temps, than any other time during the day… so my water heater will use more natural gas and more electricity than normal… I also have a family of 5 in my household, so I’m larger than normal… so my use will be higher than the EnergyGuide (usually based on family of 4)…

if you post your water heater model number, I can get the info easily for you…

2: Always on averages

my avg is about 290-310W… there are some on here that are lower… there is an article about the “King of Always On” - he was down to 50W if memory serves… some people here that have Sense at high use business were over 2kW always on… but those were heat & grow lamps that were running all the time…

3: Does warm house make refrigerator run more