Introduction and New Article on Energy Monitors including Sense

Hi

My name is Jay Basen. I have been a smart home hobbyist for over 25 years and have spent more than 12 years as a professional designing and programming smart home systems in homes as large as 75,000 sq. ft. I am now now retired from day to day programming and as a way to give back to the industry that I’ve enjoyed so much I have started writing on smart home technology. I have just finished an article on energy monitors, including Sense. I thought that people in the Sense community might find it interesting. You can find the article on the Residential Tech Today Magazine web site here: https://restechtoday.com/does-an-energy-monitor-really-add-value-to-a-smart-home/

After writing the article I replaced an almost 10 year old energy monitor in my own home with a Sense monitor. As I gain experience with the Sense monitor I hope to become a valued contributor to the community.

I also have a blog on smart home technology that might be of interest to people here. The blog is primarily targeted to professionals in the industry but I believe that a lot of the content is also relevant to homeowners and hobbyists. You can find the blog here: https://topicsinhomeautomation.blogspot.com/

Thanks

5 Likes

I enjoyed the read very much and it was a tremendous amount of information
for me as I’m just starting out on this “hobby”, as the wife calls it.
I’ll bookmark the page and read it again.
Your panel is a very nice, clean setup. Mine won’t ever look that good but yours
inspires me to get mine cleaned up (electrician did a very sloppy job).

I didn’t understand ho you stated there was a way with sense to turn smart
devices on and off in the app. I don’t have very many smart devices but I
haven’t seen any way to do that.
How are you doing that, please explain?

1 Like