Method of Capturing Data

What methods do people use to capture the data? I saw the github project that has a script to do it, at least I think that’s what it does. But another method that I used was to use the Burp Proxy tool (free!) and run all the monitoring traffic through that and see the json data in the websockets window. The data updates every 1-2 seconds, so it’s a lot.

I’m pretty new to having solar panels (about 2 weeks) so I’m looking for some cool analysis ideas!

1 Like

I run a modified version of the github python code and capture the sense data every 15 seconds. I write it to InfluxDB and look at it with Grafana. All free running in Docker containers on my NAS.

The red and yellow bars are HVAC’s and the purple bar is a garage gas heater. Green line is gas consumption and yellow line is Sense electricity.

3 Likes

That’s really well done @ben3 (tagged you to get another badge!)

I see in the online Sense graphs that I can see my usage, and I can see my solar generation, and there are places that I can see them side by side. I think I might want to create something more fine-grained using these data points. I might also use this extra data that I’m discovering to self-identify more of my “Other” devices in the house.

I’ll take a look at Grafana, I haven’t heard of that one before, or InfluxDB. I just did a quick lookup and saw they are built for exactly this type of purpose, so that’s pretty awesome. Thanks!

I run some python and push to PVOutput on a 5 min basis. Esterillos 7.000kW

1 Like

@ben3,
how are you monitoring gas usage?

@ben3

I love Grafana, cool work!

How much disk space does that require daily?

@samheidie: I can’t answer that exactly because I record a BUNCH of data. I started this project over XMas break so my data starts Jan 1. Total storage in use by InfluxDB is 67M. I’m pulling weather data from several sources, HVAC states from 4 systems, etc.