Model difference between SM2 and SM3

Hello Everyone! I’m an electrical engineer in central New York and just installed a sense energy monitor at my home yesterday. I’m very excited about it and learning more about ways that I can improve my energy usage throughout the day/week…

The sense unit that I’m using is a model SM2 (I bought used). It is my understanding that the current hardware being sold is SM3 and that it may have been around for a while. I searched a lot before buying to try to find the difference between SM2 and SM3 but I couldn’t find anything. I wasn’t able to ask here prior to buying since I didn’t have an account yet. I figured the functionality is probably similar otherwise I’d find some comparisons…

I would like to know if there are any known limitations of the SM2 as compared to current SM3 that I should be expecting. Is it less accurate? Does it consume more power? Is it not able to connect to something? I’m guessing this has probably been discussed in the forum closer to the launch of SM3 but it seems it has a 1year memory so it is probably out of that window…

Thanks for any information on this!

@MoonDog,
I don’t know the designations SM2 and SM3, but I do know the early Sense monitors used a TI ADC/DSP combo, while the newer hardware uses NXP chips. I don’t think there is any significant difference in functionality though the TI-based units might be a little more stressed on SPI based DMA, and might run a little tighter on software task deadlines. There is certainly no big difference in the persistent memory as you suggest.

As an EE, you would probably appreciate a blog on Sense’s main firmware guy, here:

Ps:Take a look at his linked blog to get an idea of the challenges within the Sense HW.

pss: Here’s a teardown of the TI-based hardware.

1 Like

Where does on check to find if SM2 or SM3.

Purchased on Amazon Prime Day so I assume it should be newer unit.

Hello kevin1,