Compare section - What does the usage refer to?

Hello. Forgive this newbie for what may seem a silly question, but…

On the “Compare” tab of my Sense app, I am told that my home is “998w” and I am lower than 83% of “other similar homes in my area.”

What does the “998w” represent? How much usage? Energy? What (forgive the pun…)?

I need to have something in my head to make me understand how these terms reflect energy “usage.” Meaning, It would be helpful for me to know that 998w means that is how much electric we use in a day. Or an hour. Or whatever. But I need a definition I can understand and wrap my head around.

Also, we are having am 11.35 kW solar system installed. We have the roof rails on already! What does the 11.35 kW mean? I am not an engineer so please dumb it down for me.

Same thing, I need to be able to understand the term so I can put it to use.

Thanks.

It’s an average. Take the number of kWh you used in a day and multiply it by 24 to get your average wattage. Do that for 30 days and average those numbers. That gives you a 30 day average wattage.

We absolutely hear you on this and are doing some serious brainstorming on how we can help users better understand these concepts. In the meantime, we do have a blog that breaks down these concepts: https://blog.sense.com/articles/what-is-a-watt-anyway/

1 Like

The hardest thing to explain (in my experience) is the difference between instantanous (or an average number) of watts vs “energy usage”. Energy usage implies time … watts over time.

Part of that is “easy”: a 1,000W ( 1kW) space heater on for 1 hour uses the same amount of energy (in that one hour) as if you had a 100W lightbulb on for 10 hours straight.