Discussion: Why can't I train my Sense?

I know i am using the same title as the pinned post but that post was created and locked for future Q and A so i will post this myself for others to post in and so i can ask the question as well since i think your answer to the question isn’t correct. I’ve already introduced myself but i will post my background here so everyone can understand where i am coming from. I am a Chief Electronics Technician in the United States Coast Guard and have been an ET for the past 18.5 years with a background in LORAN, Radar technician/instructor, communications technician/instructor, fire control technician, 2M technician/instructor and MTR technician/instructor. With my background I understand why power and RF signals look different BUT within a specific known good range across multiple devices of the same make and model which is why it is possible to add a learning or training mode to the sense device. If you gave us as the end user the ability to turn on a learning or training mode and allowed us to tell sense what devices just turned on and off it would help sense learn the power fingerprint of each device that much quicker and would also give us the ability to train it with minimal devices on and also with multiple devices on.

11 Likes

I agree with this statement 100%. Sense should allow users to identify and help Sense train the device. I have two heaters in my house that use electricity; The Trane Furnace with a ECM blower and draft inducer, a Lenox pellet stove with an ignitor, draft inducer and blower motor. I also have a heated matters pad and an engine block heater. Sense has identified 7 heaters in my house, none of which I believe are correct. Therefore I agree with Mike Gessner

4 Likes

Now that sense has detected some heaters in your hone, you can help “train” it in the sense that you can identify the detections. I know it’s not training the way you or @mike_gessner are using the term.