Generator Integration/Install Issues

Hello all!

I’m new to sense and have a new generac standby generator. I followed the sense instructions to a T when installing everything but something isn’t right. As @majorgearhead said, the instructions say to put the CT lines on the main lines from the meter, sense doesn’t seem to like this very much.

I think the problem is that the transfer switch is way too fast for Sense to sense the change (pun intended). When switching to generator power, it can tell that the power is off through the main supply wires into the house but when switching back it has a hard time if there isn’t a true power outage. I think if the CT leads are placed on the generator lines it makes it much easier to detect when the generator has turned on

Have you figured this out yet? It kind of sounds like your putting the CT’s on the mains of the panel after a 200amp smart transfer switch. Meaning the mains come in from the grid and go to a 200 amp transfer switch which normally is grid to panel, then if the grid drops… it switches the feed to generator to panel? Could you tell us more about your entire setup such as:

Is your transfer switch a whole house transfer switch meaning not just critical loads?
Do you have flex sensors?
How far is your transfer switch from your panel?

1 Like

I have a 200amp service rated ATS. So from meter it goes into the ATS, then into main panel.

I wired the sense exactly like the sense instructions showed but apperantly like @majorgearhead said, that is wrong.