Home Assistant - Raspberry Pi

Anyone running Home Assistant on a Raspberry Pi? If so, does it seem to keep up ok. All the RaspPi builds I’ve done was 3 B+ or prior builds and a new v. 4 with 64bit quad core processor appears to be the about the same prices now as a used v3.

I’m wanting to put -
Sense
Venstar (thermostat)
SmartThings
StreamLabs
Kuna
Ubiquiti
Netgear
MyQ

I’m not sure how much processing power HA takes, but curious if this build is stable.

I purchased the Blue Bundle from Ameridroid about 2 months ago. It’s pretty fast and stable. @DevOpsTodd has logged into mine and immediately commented how fast it was.

They are sold out of the Blue now.

I’m new to HA but as Todd said it was really fast, this has some info:

Home Assistant Amber (A): Vs Home Assistant Blue Bundle (B)

A: 2GB RAM, vs. B: 4GB RAM [B has 2x the RAM]
A: 16GB eMMC, vs. B: 128GB eMMC [B has 8x the storage]

As i understand it, this is their Amber model that is coming next month:

As noted in another thread, there is a serious flaw between HA and Sense that is affecting energy logging that has been going on for a while unfixed.

2 Likes

Did you try moving HA Energy configuration to Yearly Sense values ?That did the trick for me and fixed the the 1 hour gap from midnight to 1AM.

I’m still trying to get basic scripts to run in HA.

Afraid I’m not exactly sure how to change that.

Looks like you can load the Odriod N2+ with andriod 9.0 or Ubuntu 20.04… the specs on that thing should be at least twice as fast…. Should eat the RasPi 4/ 2G alive.

But I think the Odriod N2+ is available, just not on that site. I think this company is preloading it with andriod 9.0, then home assistant and putting a bunch of cheap switches /bulbs/ sensor which makes it very appealing to someone like me.

The “yellow” is defiantly a 2Gb raspberry pi 4 in one of their cases.