Recent weird behavior with solar

I have been using Sense with solar generation since mid-2019. With the exception of the occasional server issue, which Sense is good at reporting, it has been working great. For the last couple of months I have seen some weird behavior… several times per day for up to an hour or two, the energy usage drops to zero and the Solar generation reports the NET difference between solar generation and usage. (see attached). Has anytime else seen this and does anyone know what is going on?

Hi

I have looked into your issue, and it appears that one of your solar CTs may either be receiving a lot of interference, possibly broken, or, in the best case - simply open or not connected properly.

If you can check your Sense setup and make sure it is connected and looks good, nothing is open, nothing is pressing up against hard on the CTs, or there is no strong magnetic interference.

Once you make some adjustments, let me know, and I can review your signals and see if the issue has cleared up.

Thanks for your patience while I work to help you. Please let me know if you have any questions. I am always happy to help.

4 Likes

James

Wow, I can’t believe the level of detailed personal support you gave me! Thank you so much!

I went in and checked the CT’s and made sure there was no dirt/spider webs between the ends of the contacts, and then I also unplugged and re-plugged in the connectors to make sure there wasn’t a loose or dirty connection somewhere. There was nothing that was apparently loose or not making a connection.

A couple of photos of the CT’s attached.

Regards
Neil

IMG_9926.jpegIMG_9925.jpegIMG_9924.jpeg

1 Like