Discovered Motor Device on and off for one only second

Hi all, My name is Greg and I’m new to the Sence community. That being the case, I have question about a motor device that was discovered by my monitor this week. Here is my question. Has anyone ran across a discovered motor device that randomly turns on and off every couple of hours for just one second. Sometimes when this motor device comes on it draws exactly 707 watts for that one second, and sometimes it draws exactly 449 watts for a second.
Any advise on how to track down and find out what this motor device is?
In advance, thanks.

1 Like

Do you have a laser printer?

Mine identified as an unnamed motor of 767 watts that turned on every so often for a brief time.

2 Likes

Yes I have a laser printer, so I turned that off and the issue still occurs. I’m starting to turn off devices one at at time that have motors, like my stand-up freezers, furnace, hot tub, etc.in order to try and isolate the device that causing the problem. I assume this is going to be a boring time consuming task, like watching paint dry.

1 Like

This afternoon I was able to locate the root cause of the issue. My new GE Profile refrigerator is the culprit. It appears when the compressor comes on, Sense notices a 707 watt spike and reports that as motor turned on for one second, then reports motor turned off for one second. I guess the question now, is this a normal occurrence or do I have a problem with my new GE Profile refrigerator. Has anyone seen or had this type of issue? I hate to place a service call for the refrigerator if this is a normal condition. On the other hand if this is normal, its going to be a pain seeing this notification pop up on my app every couple of hours when the compressor comes on. Does anyone have some advise, or recommendation.