Ten days of Sense

Here is my Sense story after ten days of use:

I installed my Sense unit myself. The install was not difficult and went without a hitch (to be fair, I am an engineer).

Here is what the system has detected so far after 10 days of use:

1. The first thing it detected (within 24 hours of install) was “Heat 1”, a mysterious device that used ~800 watts of electricity for exactly one minute, spaced 6 minutes apart. It would do this 30-60 times, then stop for ~24 hours. After much searching, this turned out to be the sump pump in my crawlspace (not a basement). What’s interesting is that the pump hasn’t functioned for years, but apparently it’s still been turning on occasionally. I unplugged it since this represents a potential fire hazard. Thanks Sense!

2. The second thing it discovered was my HVAC (no surprise there). It’s not 100% accurate though, sometimes my A/C is on and it’s still grouped in the “Other” bubble. Sometimes it thinks my A/C is my dryer.

3. Next it discovered Heat 2, which is my Keurig Coffee Maker and my Toaster Over. Yes, if either of those things turns on, it’s listed under this device. This isn’t surprising as both are heating elements of similar wattage on the same breaker loop.

4. It also discovered my clothes dryer, though sometimes it thinks the A/C is my clothes dryer.

5. It discovered my microwave and so far is pretty accurate at flagging this device correctly when used.

6. It discovered “Stove” and “Heat 3” simultaneously, which are various elements or combinations of elements on my stove top. I haven’t quite figured out how to trigger them–when I turn them on one at a time, it doesn’t flag either of these devices. I combined them both into one device I call Stove.