New to Sense, trying to identify HVAC

I am new to Sense and i purchase it to help me analyze hvac costs. I have 3 induction heater in various locations. My hope was to turn one on and label the load as that heater.
From what i se and read i can not do that and it may take a month for sense to identify. Looks like a 50/50 shot it will be correct.
Honestly this seems like a cool pet project to build very cool algorithms but not to sure it is what i am looking for to actually do what i want it to do.

Hi @rm10x - do you currently have Sense Solar (or another Sense integration that utilizes the middle port on your monitor?)

No i do not It has had an installation error and has been at 50 % diagnosed for 5 hours
It is online however

@rm10x If you want to see your HVAC system in Sense immediately and not wait on native device detection, you can purchase a pair of Flex Add-on Sensors and utilize the Dedicated Circuit Monitoring feature to instantly detect up to 2 120V or 240V breakers in your panel.
The installation guide is here:

1 Like

Does that make sense ? I can see it come on on the load monitor I know the amp load. Why can I not assign it manually ? Or at least zero it in ? Wher I live the heaters will off in another month. That kinda make this obsolete at that point ?

If all you wanted to know was the operational wattage of your HVAC system on the Power Meter spike/decrease, then you I wouldn’t recommend using DCM. You should be fine as-is.

If you wanted to see the entire HVAC system identified together as one device, I’d recommend Dedicated Circuit Monitoring. Sense will probably recognize the different parts of your HVAC system as individual devices, so Dedicated Circuit Monitoring is ideal for bundling multi-component devices into one bubble (without having to manually merge separate components as they’re identified.)