New device question

I have been using sense for nearly 4 years now. I have ceiling fans in every room. I was always a bit miffed why it never detected them (it’s a motor that goes on and off). That is just the background.

So the other day I got a popup of a new device detected. Reviewing the highest possible suggestion was Fan @ 46%. I was like cool, it finally found it so I added.

However, it showed active despite no fans running. I noticed a few more things:

1. It seems to come on every few minutes (up to 10) for about 2-3 mins at a time
  2. Always uses 96W
  3. Happens throughout the day (i’m not home now but its going on and off every 10-ish mins)

When I was home and it was coming on, I was doing nothing out of the ordinary.

Any thoughts on what this could be or how to figure out what it is?

Do you have any laptops, or other batteries that might just being doing a trickle-charge?
My ceiling fans only pull about 45W continuous, prob double that on startup.

Also, don’t trust the data from the new device; that info is what Sense thinks the device is using; the true view is the Meter view. You can try to compare the on/off times to the actual meter view and see how much the device is actually using, that may (or may not) help.

1 Like

There may be a hint to your mystery device identity in the list of other suggestions by Sense. You said Fan was the top suggestion at 46%, but what were the others? You can return to that list at any time by going to the device page, then Settings (the cog icon in top right), then the > arrow next to Name.

Sense was able to identify my bathroom exhaust fan, which has tiny blades hidden behind a grill. The bathroom fan uses 52W when in use, and Sense was 97% sure that it was a Fan. Sense also identified my kitchen exhaust hood above the stove, which again has small blades hidden inside a duct. The hood uses 200W when in use.